New California in Vehicle Law – No Smoking With Minors in Your CarBy admin • Jan 3rd, 2008 • Category: Driving Laws
DISCLAIMER - Any Charges Reported in these Press Releases are Merely Accusations and the Defendants are Presumed Innocent Unless and Until Proven Guilty.test
Another new driving law for 2008 is Senate Bill 7. The existing law prohibited a person to smoke acigarette, cigar, or other tobacco-related product within 25 feet of a playground or tot lot sandbox area. The new bill extends the law and makes it an infraction punishable by a fine of up to $100 for a person to smoke a pipe, cigar, or cigarette in a motor vehicle, whether in motion or at rest, in which there is a minor. This act is now known as the Marco Firebaugh Memorial Children’s Health and Safety Act of 2007.
The new smoking law is a secondary offense, so you can’t be pulled over for smoking in your vehicle with a minor present, however if you are being cited for another infraction, you may also be ticketed for this infraction.
If you’re interested in reading Senate Bill 7, please visit the California State Government link listed below.